COVID-19 Updates

Council & Committees
City Departments
Visit Barre
Contact Us
Planning Commission

Planning Commission
Meets on the 2nd Thursday at 5:30 PM
Council Chambers, City Hall

The role of the Planning Commission is to provide leadership and long-term perspective on community planning matters. This involves public outreach and feedback including holding public hearings, conducting surveys, holding forums, and educating the community about issues facing the City of Barre. The Planning Commission is a policy board that works collaboratively with the community, other municipal boards, and regional/state partners to help define and achieve the City of Barre’s vision as expressed in the City's Municipal Plan. The principal responsibility of the Planning Commission is to prepare and amend the Municipal Plan and the land use regulations (e.g., Zoning Regulations, Subdivision Regulations, Official Map).

Regular Meetings:


The Barre City Planning Commission is a seven member board, appointed by the City Council, with members serving three-year terms.  The Planning Commission adopted their amended Rules of Procedure on September 26, 2019.

Each member serves a 3-year term.

David Sichel
Term expires 2025

Raylene Meunier
Term expires 2023

Michael Hellein, Chair
Term expires 2023

Rosemary (Lynn) Averill
Term expires 2023

Amanda Gustin, Vice Chair
Term expires 2023

Joe Reil, Secretary
Term expires 2023

Becky Wigg
Term expires 2025



Correspondence to the Commission should be directed to:

The Barre City Planning Commission
c/o Janet E. Shatney, Director
Planning, Permitting, & Assessing Services
6 North Main St. Ste 7
Barre, VT 05641