Council & Committees
City Departments
Visit Barre
Contact Us
Barre City Planning Commission

The Barre City Planning Commission is a seven member board, appointed by the City Council, with members serving four-year terms. The function of this Commission is long range planning which includes preparation of the City’s Municipal Plan, Zoning and Subdivision Regulations. The Planning Commission may also undertake studies and make recommendations regarding future development.

The Planning Commission normally meets the second and fourth Thursdays of each month (with sometimes a more limited schedule in July and August) at 6:30 PM in Council Chambers, which is handicapped accessible by an elevator found in the rear access of the building with the Opera House.

Current members include:

Jackie Calder, Chair   (term expires June 2020)
David Sichel   (term expires June 2019)
James Hart, III   (term expires June 2020)
Michael Hellien, Vice Chair   (term expires June 2020)
Rachel Rudi   (term expires June 2020)
Rick Badem   (term expires June 2020)
VACANT   (term expires June 2020)

Correspondence to the Commission should be directed to:

Planning Commission
c/o Janet E. Shatney, Director
Planning, Permitting, & Assessing Services
6 North Main St. Ste 7
Barre, VT 05641


Zoning Update as of January 1, 2019:

After having spent two and half years on rewriting the current zoning ordinance with the subdivision regulations integrated into it, the Planning Commission is holding their public hearing on Wednesday, January 23, 2019 at 6:30 to pm in Council Chambers.  Please share your comments either via attendance at, or written in – praise and/or constructive criticism are welcome!

This public hearing is to take public comment on the proposed CITY OF BARRE UNIFIED DEVELOPMENT ORDINANCE, with the hopes to move it to the City Council.  Our proposed ZONING DISTRICT MAP and proposed OVERLAY DISTRICT MAP accompany the text.

Over the course of the last two and half years, we have had residents, business owners and organizations attend our meetings, participate in discussions, request changes; we've also received written comments on our drafts, which has culminated in our FINAL COMMENT TABLE with recommendations by our Consultant and decisions made if needed.

Three public informational community workshops were held over the course of this time as well:

Community Workshop No. 1 was held on October 27, 2016 - Presentation

Community Workshop No. 2 was held on May 25, 2017 - Presentation

Community Workshop No. 3 was held on March 22, 2018 - Presentation

A TABLE was created to show the proposed zoning districts with quick-facts as well.

For any further information or questions about the draft Unified Development Ordinance, call or email Janet Shatney, Planning Director, at (802) 477-1465;